LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Explaining Progressions Part 3  (Read 18954 times)

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Explaining Progressions Part 3
« on: September 08, 2006, 01:30:18 PM »

O.K., so far we have learned about how to anticipate what chord will come next and what possible chords can be built of each of the scale degrees 1-7.  Have you ever thought about what chords to play on the scale degrees that lie in-between the scale degrees 1-7?  Well, that's what this post is going to be about.   Some people may call these filler chords, or passing chords, or whatever other name there is.  I'm going to call them tweeners.

Just in case you are lost already, I'll explain what in-between scale degrees I'm talking aobut.  Now, in the major scale, once you have your starting note, you move 1 step to get the next note, right?  Well, moving 1 step also means moving two 1/2 steps.  Example: 

C  (WS)  D   
or   
C (HS) C# (HS)  D

We already know what chords we can play for the C and D notes, but what about that C# note?  It doesn't lie in the major scale, but it is still technically a scale degree.  And since it is a scale degree, that means we can build a chord off it.  Are yall wit me now?  So, anytime you move 1 step to get your next note, you have this note in-between that gets skipped, but it is still a scale degree.  So, now I'm going to give you some chords that I use when these scale degrees are played in the bass:

*Note: these scale degrees will be notated using sharps and flats because different keys will use different accidentals.  That menas that a note may be a #_ in one key, but it may be a b_ in another key.  Also, it will be assumed that you have already learned what chords are built off the regular scale degrees.

#1 / b2 in the bass