LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fully Diminished & Dominant Chords?  (Read 8810 times)

Offline Teddie_Keys

• LGM Member

Fully Diminished & Dominant Chords?
« on: April 21, 2008, 09:59:29 PM »
Can anyone please help me out?  I have been playing for about 2 years now and I have came a long way.  I do know quite a bit of theory.  However, when it comes down to playing........I have problems placing my diminished and dominate chords in my progressions.  When it comes to playing songs and I use them, I can understand why it was used in that spot of a song.  Especially the fully diminished chord (it seems to be used like a transition or a passing chord often from my experiances).  And like you T-Block I love the sound of a fully diminished chord!  I seem to only really use it when I am backing up a preacher or getting ready to go into shouting music.

So with that said......Let me share what I know so you I can maybe make it a little bit easier on you all.

Major Scale (using Key of C)

I - ii - iii - IV - V° - vi - vii

Cmaj - Dm - Em - Fmaj - Gmaj - Am - Bm

Now is the the most common place to use your dominant?
Is vii the most common place to use your diminished?

Take for instance this progression I have started playing..........

Key of F

A#, A, G, F, D

FM9 - played - F / G A C E
Gm9 - played - G / A Bb D F
A#M7 - played - A# / A# D F A
Am7 - played - A / A C E G
FM - played - F / A C F

Now how can anyone throw a dominant or fully diminished chord in there somehow?  You can add more chords in this progression if need be to demostrate there use.
♪ ♪  I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me! ♪ ♪

Offline elio

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Fully Diminished & Dominate Chords?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2008, 01:52:52 AM »
Now is the the most common place to use your dominate?