LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gospel Guitar  (Read 5969 times)

Offline Jonnyboyprime

• LGM Member

Gospel Guitar
« on: August 25, 2015, 09:21:26 AM »
I saw another long discussion on this matter but decided to start my own thread on this. I think Gospel Music is too difficult to define. So I'll leave that alone. I will attempt in my own humble way, what Gospel Guitar is. First a little back story...

I was born into Ministry, my father is a Pastor he and my mother started out in a store front maybe 3 years before I was born. When I was nine my brother and I were thrown to the wolves (I was to play the keyboard and he was to play the drums and our older sisters were to sing).

Fast forward to age 18 I started playing guitar around the house for fun with no intention of playing it in church (I was too scared). After learning the cowboy chords and power chords and Pentatonic Scale I thought I was the man! Years later when I was 25/26 I started trying to play in church and found that it's just NOT HAPPENING.

Luckily a long time family friend who would soon become one of my sisters husband took me under his wing. Now at 29 I'm able to hold down services but I have a long way to go and a lot to learn! Luckily, I have a mentor that's guiding me every step of the way!

In my studies I've come to the conclusion that Gospel Guitar 8s comprised of these styles: Blues, Jazz, Funk, Soul, R&B, Country, and Rock (in some cases straight up Metal). Somebody said that Gospel isn't a style, I respectfully disagree it's certainly a style. Whenever I hear the phrase, "Gospel Guitar" I immediately think: Spanky Alford, Dr Jonathan Dubose Jr., Jairus Mozee, Erick Walls, Chris Payton, and Jabari Johnson. All of these Guitarists borrow heavily from the aforementioned styles listed just go to YouTube and you'll hear similarities in all of their playing with their own "watermark" stamped into it.