LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting That Classical influenced polished Gospel sound  (Read 2834 times)

Offline theLearner

• LGM Member
  • Play, don't play around

Getting That Classical influenced polished Gospel sound
« on: November 10, 2012, 10:52:05 PM »
Hey everyone. I've been playing for just over a couple years now and I really developed a liking to that polished gospel sound. For example Keyboardist Jason Tyson. His style is just so professional! I heard that he is classically trained as well. Is that the best way to get that sound? He adds so much to songs with his classical moves.

I've invested in quite a bit of instructional material already on the gospel side (Jamal, Jermaine) but would classical training be a good thing to give me that polish?? A lot of guys have chords, but its just nice to have the classical edge too IMO.

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Getting That Classical influenced polished Gospel sound
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 05:19:51 PM »
Richard Smallwood is another who has Classical influence...

Total Praise - Richard Smallwood

From what I hear, JT uses a lot of voice leading (3rds, etc. in harmony) as well as riffs from Jazz and CCM, and Classical technique.

IMO, to get that Smooth Jazz sound (as in Gospel goes Classical), don't take shortcuts - some lessons in note reading may be required. Perhaps start with a piano/keyboard class at your local community center or college; most of the students may be behind you in terms of ear and coordination, but just be patient, you will probably be at the same beginning level in terms of sightreading.

Also, listen to Classical music (Bach, Mozart, etc.) From there you can probably figure out if taking private lessons would be worth it...

Offline theLearner

• LGM Member
  • Play, don't play around

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 07:06:18 PM »