LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wanting to improve my organ skills...need some tips  (Read 2247 times)

Offline RMS2003

• LGM Member
    • YouTube Page

Wanting to improve my organ skills...need some tips
« on: December 18, 2003, 07:27:45 PM »
Hello. I'm new here and I must say, there are some really good resources here on this site. Keep up the good work!

On to my question. I've been playing piano completely by ear for over 4 years. Right now I am a part-time musician at my church. A while back I became interested in playing organ and actually had several opportunities to do so, but the majority of those times I was playing solo (no bass or piano to back me up.) I played for a while and then decided as long as I'm playing solo it just won't work for me so I lost interest and went back to just playing the piano. My problem was, when playing solo I had to make sure I had a good bass for full sound. However, when you are constantly switching the tremolo speed you have to take your hand off the bass for a few seconds thus losing that fullness in the sound.

However, recently I've regained interest in playing organ again because I think if I could learn to use the foot pedals as well, I could keep the bass going so I could switch the tremolo speed and still have a full sound. My problem with using foot pedals is, well, you're not looking at your feet plus with shoes on you can't feel the pedals therefore its hard to know what your hitting.

Could I possibly get some tips or something on how I could improve my skills? Thanks.

Edit: I'm sorry. I may have posted this in the wrong forum, I didn't even see the Organ room forum farther down on the forums list.

Offline ee_guy

• LGM Member

« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2003, 03:32:11 AM »
Just like your fingers develop "muscle memory" and know where to go, your foot and leg will develop this too.  Practice!  That's the only tip I know on this.