LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I read this?  (Read 19610 times)

Offline Timo-Quique

• LGM Member

How do I read this?
« on: December 31, 2003, 04:59:48 PM »
Hey ya'll..When somebody posts chords to a song..how are exactly supposed to read it?  I'm new to this and it confuses me really bad.  Please help!

Re: How do I read this?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2003, 09:56:58 PM »
Quote from: Timo-Quique
Hey ya'll..When somebody posts chords to a song..how are exactly supposed to read it?  I'm new to this and it confuses me really bad.  Please help!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So ya want to know about that entire k-board lingo? No problem, here we go; first off, for majors, the roman numerals as follows:

I – II – III – IV – V – VI – VII – VIII
1__2__3___4__5___6___7___8           

Now for the symbols and such on the internet, the main types and what I use are these:
   L.H. = LEFT HAND
   R.H. = RIGHT HAND
   “ / “ = SEPERATES THE LEFT & RIGHT HAND
   ( - - ) = THE HYPHENS ARE FOR SINGLE NOTES BEING PLAYED
   FACE = CHORD ‘NOTED OUT ‘
   FM7 = CHORD NAME
                b = STANDS FOR FLAT
   # = SATNDS FOR SHARP
   o = DIMINISHED
   dim = DIMINISHED
   aug = AUGMENTED
   M = MAJOR
   m = MINOR
   + = RAISED OR SHARPED
   - = LOWERED OR FLATTED

How do I read this?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2004, 12:07:21 AM »
Good post Hammondman because there are some people on the site who don't understand how you post chords.  That should be a key or a stickey or something.

Offline Long Fingers

• LGM Member

Ugh...
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2004, 10:26:36 AM »
Quote from: mjfeltnerjr
Good post Hammondman because there are some people on the site who don't understand how you post chords.  That should be a key or a stickey or something.