LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 string bass  (Read 1009 times)

Offline Krazy_afro_man

• LGM Member

4 string bass
« on: February 08, 2006, 04:58:03 AM »
hey whats goin on everone. I'm a drummer and im learning the organ but I love the bass. I have a 4 string and I was wondering What is the best way to tune it? I heard how to string a 5 but I dont know the best way to string a 4. Can someone help me out?

Offline MikeGee

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • My wife is over my right shoulder.
    • my out of church band

4 string bass
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2006, 05:27:26 AM »
Standard tuning low to how is

EADG

Offline Krazy_afro_man

• LGM Member

4 string bass
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2006, 08:12:01 AM »
I think that is the way I had it but when i tried to play to a couple of cd's, the bass player was going like a couple notes lower than I could go

tondee

4 string bass
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2006, 08:43:18 AM »
My five string is in proper tune, beadg, and those cd guys STILL bottom out at least a whole note past me, like maybe A.

Tony

Offline Docdb04

• LGM Member
  • I Stand At the Door and Knock

4 String
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2006, 09:07:23 AM »
You can use a keyboard or buy a tuner.  The way that I do it is by using my keyboard.  I pluck my open E string (4th string) and I tune that to the keyboard.  Once my E string is tuned, I then go to the closed A note, (which is the 5th fret on the E string) and pluck that note and tune my A string according to closed A note on the E string.  Once my A string is tuned, I go to the closed D note on the A string, (which is the 5th fret on the A string.) pluck that note and tune my D string according to the closed D note on my A string.  Repeat this process until you tune the first string which is the G string.

Hope this helps.

tondee

4 string bass
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2006, 11:52:23 AM »
Quote from: tondee