LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The Bass or the Amp.....  (Read 4128 times)

Offline 4hisglory

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
    • Learn Gospel Musiic

The Bass or the Amp.....
« on: February 09, 2006, 06:37:10 PM »
I know that they both contribute to the sound but, it seems to me that a "good" amp can make a cheap bass go a loooonnnnggg way.  Do you think this is true???
:)

Offline MikeGee

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • My wife is over my right shoulder.
    • my out of church band

The Bass or the Amp.....
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 06:48:07 AM »
true and vise-versa is true.

great chops can make a walmart bass and amp sound great

Offline djgroovin

• LGM Member

The Bass or the Amp.....
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 08:51:25 AM »
I think so.  I had been playing a GSR200 for almost 2 yrs.  As long as the amp is powerful enough the support the venue...

Offline browntree

• LGM Member
  • www.reverbnation.com/btree

The Bass or the Amp.....
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2006, 11:43:04 AM »
a good amp will do wonders... and throw some new strings on that bass and you'll sound like a star...

Offline Pajarita

• LGM Member

The Bass or the Amp.....
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2006, 11:58:36 PM »
Quote from: browntree
a good amp will do wonders... and throw some new strings on that bass and you'll sound like a star...

I can definitely see this as the truth.  Just like putting a new engine in a car.   :roll:  Just an analogy.  

Offline Mysteryman

• LGM Member
  • The Jamaican breakfast patty created by me. :)
    • http://www.geocities.com/mysterymman1

The Bass or the Amp.....
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2006, 01:04:19 AM »
Yeah I tweaked the EQ on the amp Im using and my 4 sounded like a new bass. Only I also put it in the high end too to get more highs.
Vision without action is just day dreaming. I miss practicing.

Offline malthumb

• LGM Member
  • Praise Is What I Do