LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 string or 5 string????  (Read 1047 times)

Offline cogicguy

• LGM Member

4 string or 5 string????
« on: February 27, 2006, 05:05:58 PM »
I have been playing on my 4 string bass for about 7 months now. Everyone is telling me that most gospel bass players use 5 string to get that deeper note. So should I switch to the 5 since its still early or just learn to master the 4 string?
No weapon formed against me shall prosper

Offline funkStrat_97

• LGM Member
  • Da' House Rocka' is in Da' House!
    • Facebook

Re: 4 string or 5 string????
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2006, 05:25:41 PM »
It's all up to you.  A 5-string bass does open the possiblity of an extended lower range and you can also play higher up on the neck without having to shift around to hit lower notes.  But there are some things to consider.  One of them is finding a 5-string that is comfortable to play.  Some people just don't like the wider necks no matter how well made the bass happens to be.  But I would encourage you to take your time and don't run out and get a 5 becuase "everybody" seems to be using them.  With the exception of a few extra low notes, you can cover a lot of territory on a regualr 4-string bass.  Besides, if it worked for Jacco it's good enough for me.  But if you feel personally that you either need or want a five, then go for it.  There are som options that are available if you want to stay with a 4-string.  One of them is to use a HipShot Bass X-Tender key.  Depending on how you have it set up, you can get down to low B.  Lots of people swear by them and there are even some 5-string players who use them to go lower than B.  I personally play a 5.
“Don't bother to give God instructions, just report for duty”
- Corrie Ten Boom

Offline MikeGee

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • My wife is over my right shoulder.
    • my out of church band

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2006, 05:26:03 PM »