LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: newbie here  (Read 1395 times)

Offline yetpraise

• LGM Member

newbie here
« on: April 17, 2006, 08:35:50 PM »
hi all. i'm new to all - new to the site AND new to the bass. i own a lil one that i bought along with an amp but it just sits in my basement...i love the sound of this instrument and wanna learn to play so bad :( 

i can hear a song and know what the bass line should sound like or what the progression should be but i am just no good at actually playing...

i started taking lessons then i stopped (i guess  have no patience). i wanted to learn to play like right away and groove like crazy while at church or just listening to the radio - that wasn't working out so i stopped taking lessons lol.

seriously, what can u guys do to help a sister out? or should i jus put the instrument down and hope and pray that my son will become the great bassist/organist that i so desperately want to be?

(no i don't have any kids just yet but i hope they'll all be musicians :D)

please help...

thx

Offline sixstringpoet

• LGM Member
  • keep sound wisdom and discretion: Proverbs 3:21
    • 6stringpoet

Re: newbie here
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2006, 08:39:54 PM »
welcome yetpraise, never give up. ;)

Offline Dtuned

• LGM Member
  • sr3500custom

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2006, 09:54:48 PM »
welcome sis,
yep just give it up and live the life you wanted through your kids ::) ;D

seriously,
if you can listen to music and place the bassline in your head you have awesome talents/gifts.. this will make you a tremendous bassists.

scroll down or do a search on Uriahsmusic on this site, he has posted many little tidbits that would help motivate you again and get you started, just take it easy it will come in time.. but you're allready ahead of the game if can place the beats..

rob
spirit check, testing 1,2,3...testing, testing. a scripture a day will keep the enemy at bay. :0)