LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Practice-Techniques  (Read 1528 times)

Offline Juicyb3

• LGM Member

Practice-Techniques
« on: June 02, 2006, 12:17:43 AM »
wuz up everybody im 16 and i have been playing for about a year now i studied theory and i understood a fare amount about it but im not progressing like i want 2, i think is because i have no practice outline i want to be able to play in all keys the keys that i know are Db,D,Eb,E(Lil Bit),and F but i feel i need some help does anyone have any suggestings

Offline Muziqmann

• LGM Member

Re: Practice-Techniques
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2006, 08:44:03 AM »
Learn major and minor scales and fingerings.  Learn what scale degrees are major and minor in maj. and min. keys and learn turn-arounds in every key.  Learn songs off tapes/cds and practice with them.  These will help you progress. 
When the minstrel played, the hand of the LORD was upon him.  II Kings 3:15

rjthakid

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2006, 09:12:16 AM »
wuz up everybody im 16 and i have been playing for about a year now i studied theory and i understood a fare amount about it but im not progressing like i want 2, i think is because i have no practice outline i want to be able to play in all keys the keys that i know are Db,D,Eb,E(Lil Bit),and F but i feel i need some help does anyone have any suggestings

You can become decent in a key in one week.
Don't try to learn everything at once.  Pick a key, and make that your key for the moment.  Before you do ANYTHING in the key you chose, play the scale for that key over and over....for at least a good 10 minutes.  First with your left hand, then with your right, then both (10 min may not sound like a long time, but when you're doing ONE scale over and over, it feels long).