LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: All Keyboard/Piano Musicians..............  (Read 1045 times)

Offline Mecos

• LGM Member

All Keyboard/Piano Musicians..............
« on: June 18, 2006, 04:38:58 AM »
Got YA!!!!!!!!!

Anyway.  What's up everybody.  I wouldn't say that I am a beginner probably mid range I wiould say but anyway, one of my main problems is playing in different keys.  Most of the time when I am playing I find myself transposing unless I listen to the song on the radio and get the music then.  I really need to work on not transposing.  Can anyone help me with a tip, practice, advice, or anything that I can work on to help me leave the tranposing.  I have talked to other musician and they told me that sometimes they have to transpose but I do all the time.  Like I said I can play it when I hear it on the radio but other than that, I have to transpose.

Now that you have read my post, please help me out with some tips or advice.

Thanks in advance
Going Foward!!!!!!

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: All Keyboard/Piano Musicians..............
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2006, 08:31:16 PM »
Learn the progressions, or musical patterns, of the song first.  Then practice it in all keys rather than just the original key.  For example, if you play a C major chord in the key of C, then music theory tells me that you are playing a 1 chord.  In order to play that same chord in every key, all you have to do is the play the 1 chord in every key.  Here is the illustrated version:

C major scale = C  D  E  F  G  A  B

1 chord = major  (C-E-G)
2 chord = minor  (D-F-A)
3 chord = minor  (E-G-B)
4 chord = major  (F-A-C)
5 chord = major  (G-B-D)
6 chord = minor  (A-C-E)
7 chord = diminished  (B-D-F)

C major chord = C-E-G  *1 chord in the key of C