LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stuck in a Rut!!! Need Help Desperately!!!  (Read 2365 times)

Offline tanyasparks

• LGM Member

Stuck in a Rut!!! Need Help Desperately!!!
« on: July 14, 2003, 12:23:07 PM »
Hey all,

I'm new here.  I just joined today as a matter of fact.  I have been playing piano for about 3 yrs.  I read treble clef with my rihgt hand and play chords with my left hand.  I only know the basic chords.  For example for the key of "C"  I only know C, Cm, C7.  I know that sounds pitiful.  I'm just leaning some new things recently.  The problem I have is this awful pattern that I have developed with my left hand.  I play the same pattern in evey song.  It makes for some boring church music let me tell you.  The patter is as follows.  Say for amazing grace in 3/4 timing.  With my left hand I only play the chords in this patter.  For G,  I play  G,B,D  one note at a time for each beat.  For a 4/4 song I would play G,B,D,B  on every beat.  I want to learn some new patterns for my left hand.  Sorry if this is long and confusing but I desperate.  I don't know what else to do.  PLEASE HELP ME!!!  

Thanks in advance for any advice.

tanyasparks

Offline B3Wannabe

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2003, 01:59:45 PM »
Seems you already know what the problem is, so I'd take a just-do-it approach. Just start playing chords with your left hand instead of breaking it up. This is a whole lot easier than it seems.

On piano, I chord with both hands, moving my left hand around the bass. For you, since you seem to be on the beginner level, theory-wise, just use the chords you know. They can do more than you think they can. Also, try playing lighter chords with your right hand, until you get the left hand down, using just two notes or the melody. This will give you a jazzier sound, especially if the left hand is playing two or more notes with the right hand.