LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: riffs and runs going upscale  (Read 1284 times)

deandrehodges

riffs and runs going upscale
« on: July 18, 2006, 09:24:05 AM »
praise god yall! will anybody give me advice on some excercises that"ll help me do my runs and riffs going upscale?for example heres a run ill do F F# G Bb C Eb F F# and so on.its basically thesame thing going up but i always get tripped up at around F# its as if my fingers are tripping up the stairs.my fingers may be positioned wrong .i do the same thing going down but going up is the doozy.

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: riffs and runs going upscale
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 02:05:05 PM »
First of all, what key is this run in, what scale does this run come from, what scale are you trying to play?

Second, what fingers do you currently use for each note?  I find that it helps if you write down what fingers you are using so that you can see where the problem note and finger is located.  This way you go straigh to the problem, fix it, then try it out.  You may find that changing the fingering for one note creates a problem for another note.  If this happens, then you need to start from scratch.
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

deandrehodges

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 02:28:48 PM »