LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is the going rate for a saxophonist to charge to do a wedding?  (Read 2283 times)

Offline visionmike

• LGM Member

I have done a few weddings and when I was asked how much do you charge, I don't know what to tell them. How do you put a charge on something like that? 
In everything you do, ALWAYS put God 1st!

Offline baldeagle

• LGM Member

Re: What is the going rate for a saxophonist to charge to do a wedding?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2006, 09:48:09 AM »
I've been playing sax for about 20 years. I still have this problem. This is usually how I look at it. Most of the weddings I do are not for rich people. So I could charge too much and get passed over. Or I could charge something reasonable, and get paid $100 -- $200 for playing my sax for 2 hours. I look at how many songs I'll be playing, how far it is from my house (gas is up to $19 a gallon now). You will also have to ask yourself which is more important -- making a lot of money on one event, or getting referrals and working a lot. Personally, I always charge less than I probably could because if I overcharge I'd end up sitting at home doing nothing and making nothing.

Sometimes, if it's a person that I know personally, I'll ask them what they can honestly afford. As long as I'm compensated for my gas and time, I'm usually okay.

Hope this helps.
It's God's way. . . or Hell to pay

Offline Cherri

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • Imperial Majesty! $200,000...

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2006, 04:38:17 PM »
You will also have to ask yourself which is more important -- making a lot of money on one event, or getting referrals and working a lot.

Great point...
What can I $ay Juanita Bynum is my cicerone.

Offline visionmike

• LGM Member

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2006, 12:16:43 AM »
We are on the same page.Thanks baldeagle. That info was truly helpful.
In everything you do, ALWAYS put God 1st!

Offline ferrente