LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: A question  (Read 8230 times)

Offline dwest2419

• LGM Member

Re: A question
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2013, 08:09:44 PM »
The use of roman numerals (vii-iii-vi) tells you the chord to play and the inversion to play it in. Not much to figure out here because it's pretty much given to you.

The use of just numbers (7-3-6) is just naming the bass notes. The chord you choose to play is totally up to you. With this type of notation, you are free to play whatever chord you want, as long as the bottom note is correct.

So, while they are similar, they are very different in meaning.

Tblock but can this take you out of key though?

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2013, 10:10:55 PM »
Tblock but can this take you out of key though?

Not if you follow it right. In key or out of key has to do with your tonic chord. As long as your chords lead you to the right tonic, you will stay in key.
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

Offline gtrdave

• LGM Member
  • Men always ought to pray and not lose heart.
    • Check out some of my music!

« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2013, 07:50:08 AM »

The use of just numbers (7-3-6) is just naming the bass notes. The chord you choose to play is totally up to you. With this type of notation, you are free to play whatever chord you want, as long as the bottom note is correct.

That's not entirely true in my experience.
Using Nashville Numbers as just numbers (with no extra characters) assumes that the progression will follow Diatonic guidelines: 1, 4, 5 are major chords and 2, 3, 6 are minor chords. The use of 7 (diminished) is rare. So, more than just the bass note, the use of just numbers denotes the full chord triad.