LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Coming up with licks  (Read 575 times)

Pearldrummer1

Coming up with licks
« on: September 16, 2006, 08:06:54 PM »
Since I've been maturing lately as a drummer, as well as an overall lover of music, I've noticed how every drummer has there own arsenal of licks and tricks that they seem to throw out at any given time. Now I myself have an arsenal which is a mix between things that I've practiced, things that have came to me, and then the licks that have been influenced, and originated from other drummers. God has blessed me in a way so that my arsenal has grown significantly over the years. But I'm somewhat confused...Lately I feel overwhelmed to come up with new licks. I'm primarily a pockett drummer, so the majority of licks I'm capable of, I keep them to myself. I've spent lots of time developing and learning to respect pockett drumming but licks seem to define the kind of drummer that I really am. Basically, you might get a nice, complicated lick out of me every few Sunday's if God moves me to do that. I just feel greedy for wanting to expand my licks, despite the fact that the ones I have I dont really use except when I'm at home practicing or having a jam session or something like that. Has anyone else felt like that, or is that just me???

Offline CJKeyboardPlaya

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Coming up with licks
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 08:12:04 PM »
i feel you on that one. i mean i am too a pockett drummer... cuz the people i play wit tell me all the time to stay in da pockett. so nah ur not the only one. altho i do want to get alot alot better at my licks and fills and all that so they wont mind me doing all them tricks....

jus my 2cents....

Offline fretai03

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • My Fatso
    • My Youth

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2006, 09:51:25 PM »