LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Saxophone Mouthpieces  (Read 1872 times)

Offline dfwkeys

• LGM Member

Saxophone Mouthpieces
« on: September 25, 2006, 11:45:34 AM »
OKay, i'm new with the sax and needed some guidance from my family on this site about mouthpieces, i was looking up on website about mouthpieces to purchases, they, have like model C , model E, model D, etc... does this give the sax a different tune?  when i play the note G on my sax it comes out a different sound then the note on the piano, so if i'm reading music and i play C or G, and i tell the pianist to play in the key of C or G, we're on two different notes, does this has anything to do with the mouthpiece or the saxophone itself? 

Offline keynote

• LGM Member
  • Ps 16:1

Re: Saxophone Mouthpieces
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2006, 12:01:33 AM »
Saxophones are made in various pitches:

Alto and Bari - E-flat
Tenor and Soprano - B-flat

There are other less common models that are in other keys, but you rarely see them played anywhere....
But I digress....

I assume you are playing an alto. Thus, when you are in tune, your C is an E-flat on the piano... just like transposing a keyboard up a step and a half. So... if you are in the key of G, the pianist would be in the key of B-flat.

Mouthpieces have a lot to do with the character of the sound you produce i.e. bright and edgy vs. open and dark. There are many things that cause this  - facing length, chamber size, etc. but when played correctly and in tune, they will sound the same note - that depends on the type of horn (alto, tenor, bari, etc.) not the type of mouthpiece.

- hope this helps
Take care and be blessed!  Ps 16

Offline dfwkeys

• LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2006, 08:22:12 AM »
Thanks for the info...

Offline Cherri

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • Imperial Majesty! $200,000...

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2006, 11:15:01 PM »