LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: #5 Chords: Questions  (Read 2175 times)

Offline outstretchedarm

• LGM Member

#5 Chords: Questions
« on: November 06, 2006, 01:58:39 PM »
some questions for discussion:

1) Why do people refer to #5 chords as such, instead of as augmented chords?   Don't they have the name notes?

2) What is the usage of #5 chords?  If they are treated like augmented chords, then I see them being used for a transition between I and VIm.  For example:

C - F - A             F major
C# - F - A          F #5
D - F - A            D minor

Of course, these are my assumptions.  Because I'm posting this for the sake of learning, how are you all using these chords?

- O

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: #5 Chords: Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2006, 05:33:24 PM »
1) Why do people refer to #5 chords as such, instead of as augmented chords?   Don't they have the name notes?

No, a #5 chord technically doesn't exist, so whatever chord you can think of to play here should work, as long as you got the correct bass note.  Even though it doesn't technically exist, it does exist theoretically and musically, so I would just use a chord that sounds good.

2) What is the usage of #5 chords?  If they are treated like augmented chords, then I see them being used for a transition between I and VIm.  For example:

C - F - A             F major
C# - F - A          F #5
D - F - A            D minor

O.K., let me get this straight:

1.  You are calling C-F-A, which is an F major chord, a 1 chord, so this puts you in the key of F

2.  Now, since you are going to play a #5 chord, the note in the bass should be a C#

3.  C#-F-A is an augmented chord, but I'm not quite sure if I would use this as a #5 chord

4.  From this point, in order to honestly say that you are playing a legitimate #5 chord, I need to know what note is in the bass