LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 or 5  (Read 1681 times)

Offline cdg71

• LGM Member

4 or 5
« on: November 09, 2006, 10:33:29 AM »
I am a beginner bass player and has had different views on this subject. Should I learn
bass with a 4 string or 5 string first. Some say it's ok to learn with [5 string and others
say it's easier with a 4 string. I currently have a 4 string, but want to get a 5 string.
I just don't want it to throw me off my playing.  ::)b][/b]
Worship him in Music

Offline funkStrat_97

• LGM Member
  • Da' House Rocka' is in Da' House!
    • Facebook

Re: 4 or 5
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 12:27:37 PM »
IMO, a 5-string is no more difficult to play than a 4.  As long as the bass feels comfortable to play, I see no rerason why you can't start out on a 5.  Now there are some things to take into consideration such as the feel and playability of the neck and DO NOT skimp on the amplification.  You don't have to buy a top of the line, high powered bass amp, but you need something that has a speaker that can handle the low end of a 5.
“Don't bother to give God instructions, just report for duty”
- Corrie Ten Boom

Offline gambit23435

• LGM Member
  • http://myspace.com/bassin4god
    • Bassin 4 God

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 12:34:23 PM »
First, Welcome to LGM  ;D

Second, It doesn't matter what they tell you it is all about feel. Let me explain when you first start learning to play your anxious and nervous. Now add a instrument that just doesn't feel right, like it doesn't fit or feels to big. If it is not comfortable to you then you are going to be disappointed with trying to learn to play. Wether it is a 4 string or a 5 string if it doesn't feel right you won't want to play.