LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Opposition: Just can't get on the Organ.  (Read 2923 times)

Rjthakid

Opposition: Just can't get on the Organ.
« on: May 17, 2007, 01:05:15 PM »
Here's the deal.

I've been playing the drums for about five years now.

I first started learning how to play the Organ about 3 years ago.  When our MOM saw me on the Organ, he approached me and told me:

"I don't want to discourage you, but I don't think you should get on the Organ.  If people see you on the Organ they'll think they can just walk up and sit on it too.  You need to get a little Casio and practice at home."

I quit....but not for long.

Last year I started practicing again, and even purchased a Hammond L100 so I could practice at home.  I've grown by leaps and bounds, and our MOM STILL has a problem with me playing.

The MOM is the Bass player, I'm the drummer, and our keyboard player is a paid musician (he's not a member of our church).

3 weeks ago my sister sang a solo and I played behind her.  As SOON as she was done our MOM pointed towards the drums.  (In other words "get back over there")

>:(

The keyboard player is a Methodist and knows NOTHING about preaching chords, yet the MOM continued to allow him to get on the Organ to back up my Bishop.

2 weeks ago the keyboardist FELL ASLEEP on the Organ.  I pointed this out and the MOM woke him up and they shared a laugh. 

>:(

This past sunday my Bishop asked me to get on the Organ to back him up.   ;D  I was ECSTATIC!  He also had a meeting with me and the MOM after service and stated that he wants ME to back him up every Sunday (apparently I did better than the keyboard player).

Yesterday my Bishop tells me that the MOM came to him upset on Tuesday and told my Bishop that he DISRESPECTED him by asking me to get on the Organ. 

HUH?!?!  He's the BISHOP and he disrespected the MOM by asking me to get on the Organ?!?!?! 

::)