LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: whats the diff. between all the hammond b3 a100 and  (Read 16045 times)

lilj332

whats the diff. between all the hammond b3 a100 and
« on: February 06, 2007, 08:28:55 PM »
whats the difference?? and can u tell what kind of organ iz being played just by hearing it??
i kno about the hammond b3 and a100 and c3....that's the basics 2 me i dont know what kind it is at my church (**only thing i see is the word hammond on the back**) so let me kno pleeze!!!!!
  im a beginner tryin 2 learn.......only 15

Offline BimmerFan99

• LGM Member

Re: whats the diff. between all the hammond b3 a100 and
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2007, 09:58:59 PM »
The B-3, C-3 and A-100 are all identical on the inside.  There are only two differences:
1) The cases.
2) The A-100 has an internal speaker inside the case.  This was to market for personal use in homes, I believe, so that customers wouldn't have to purchase an external tone cabinet.  In some cases, when an A-100 is hooked to a Leslie, the internal speaker isn't used at all.  In other cases, a switch is installed to use one or both.

All three models are otherwise identical.  There are people who take the innards of an A-100 and put it in a B-3 or C-3 case.  You can't tell the difference between the three by sound.

Offline RMS2003

• LGM Member
    • YouTube Page

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2007, 09:19:31 AM »
What BimmerFan said is absolutely correct. The only other difference is the chorus/vibrato is deeper on an A100. This is because of a resistor change in the vibrato switch box. Some people actually have gone in and installed a "trimpot" that allows them to control the depth of the chorus/vibrato. I've even heard that Joey D. wired a potentiometer into one of his B's chorus/vib circuit so he could totally control the depth.