LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New Bassist  (Read 2194 times)

Offline luvaofmusiq

• LGM Member
    • http://

New Bassist
« on: August 27, 2004, 03:16:11 PM »
:cry:

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to LGM and this is the first topic I've ever posted so here's a little about me.  I am a 26 year old female in Raleigh NC.  I have a strong passion for music and have been playing piano/organ for about 8+ years now.  I also play drums and fiddle on the bass a little.  Here is my dilemma, I play for a COGIC church and we have a new bass player that has been there for about a year now.  From the experience I've had with him, he's alright, but I need him to do better.  I learned to play by ear and I am just now learning/studying and applying theory to my life.  He doesn't read either and he basically learns songs that our MOM or any of the music staff presents for him to learn.  In this he's good, but freeflowing HE'S HORRIBLE!  His riffs and runs are the same and they're horrible, he acts like he has problems following the "flow", naturally and spiritually, he's barely paying attention (he's always looking down at the bass), and on top of all this he's always LOUD!!  HEEEEEEELP!  I don't know much about the bass nor music theory, however I know good music and I know what sound should be achieved.  For the vision my pastor has for the music ministry and what I have and share w/ him, it will never come to pass like this..  Can someone give me any advice as what to do?

Offline dperry

• LGM Member

New Bassist
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 05:28:27 AM »
I started about a year and I had the same problem.  I just started banging away at notes playing what I thought was right.  It took friends to tell me to slow down.  It also took funny looks from the keyboard player to get me to back off.