LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: new to the bass(please read)  (Read 4428 times)

Offline basspassion26

• LGM Member

new to the bass(please read)
« on: August 31, 2004, 11:20:02 PM »
Hello everyone, I just wanted to say hello to all the people who play the bass, much love to you.  I just started playing the bass a month ago, and I am progressing pretty well, however at times it can get discouraging when I hear something and can't play it, but I never give up.  I was wondering how long do you guys practice everyday, and after how long did you guys start getting good at playing the bass.  I want to play for my church someday, but until I feel confident I don't think I'll ever get the nerve to play.  Also, how long after learning the bass did you start playing for the church?  I hope to get a reply.  Thanks.

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2004, 05:38:58 PM »
Wussup, I usually don't practice as much as I need to cuz I be very busy, but it took me a few months of practice before I started playing for my church. I was scared and couldn't play that good at first, but after a while I started picking up stuff and I became the player I am today. Just stick with it and watch as many other "good" bass players you can to improve your technique.
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

Offline Scolli

• LGM Member
    • http://

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2004, 10:18:59 AM »
Hi BassPassion,

There are so many factors involved other just the length of time that you practice:
-Your natural musical ability
-The music you listen to
-the exposure to other musicians (jammin, etc)
-etc....

My advice would be practice as much as you have time for without killing your passion for playing.