LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: what key you in  (Read 4553 times)

Offline tanis107

• LGM Member

what key you in
« on: September 20, 2007, 08:34:17 AM »
what key (s) are you most comfortable in. why do think that is

me personally i love some Db

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: what key you in
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2007, 10:25:01 AM »
I'm most comfortable in Eb cuz I practice in that key the most.
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

Offline Marcus12

• LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 10:57:14 AM »
I started out learning everything in Db!  Then when I started learning theory and practicing playing chords, I am now in love with C.  I think it's because most people when giving a little lesson (LGM) will explain it in C. 

LOL.......Question.  Why is it that most black gospel musicians love playing in black keys (Db, Eb, Gb, Ab, Bb)?

They hardest key for me to play in is D!!!  I don't know why I have so many problems with that key.  Does anyone else feel uncomfortable in D?

Offline Shadow_

• LGM Member
    • MidesMusic

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2007, 01:55:34 PM »
I don't have a favorite anymore...it used to be all the black keys but I've warmed up to the white keys...i loved the challenge of playing in them and now I'm fluent in all of them. The one's that i rarely play in though are D,A & G...I'm not too sure why, but its partly because most of the songs I'm learning aren't in those keys...
Why do bad people happen to good things?

Offline glorydweller

• LGM Member

« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2007, 03:03:54 PM »
I like A, and I think it's because it (1.) fits nicely with my vocal range, and (2.) seems to add a nice color to extended chords.

But I also hang around in Bb, C, D, F, and G a lot. I'm just starting to be fluent in the mostly black keys.

Offline chevonee

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member