LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Effective vs Ineffective practice techniques....which one are you?  (Read 1505 times)

Offline chevonee

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • Back and better than ever!
    • God's Glory

Many people have already shedded light in the area of their practice routine, but the truth of the matter is that there are still up and comers who don't know how to practice effectively. Truth be told, I am just learning exactly how to practice effectively. If you ever want to go to the next level, stop transposing, and stop being dependent on others for chords ::)....I recommend that you evalute your practice techniques. Here's an example of effective vs ineffective practice. God bless! ;)

"Perfect Practice Makes Perfect"
One of the most common things I hear when talking with other musicians is that, “I practice and practice, but I don’t seem to be going anywhere…”   This is the unfortunate case for many musicians.   They spend hours and hours trying to get better only to realize that they aren’t growing much at all.  I myself have gone through that same thing and it can be very frustrating.  I have since made a few modifications to my practice habits that have allowed me to see growth QUICKER with LESS practice time.  After all there are only so many hours in the day and if you have a day job and kids you know that those hours can get filled up pretty quickly.  It’s no big secret but it will require you to break some old habits.   The answer is NOT “Practice Makes Perfect”, but “PERFECT Practice Makes Perfect”.

Now you may be asking yourself what you can be doing more than you already are to get the most out of your practice time.   Well let me describe two musicians to you so you can see the difference.  Instead of using Musician A and Musician B, I am going to give them names.  Musician A = Curtis and Musician B = Charlene. 

Let’s take a look at how Curtis practices: