LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scale Degree Chords  (Read 24925 times)

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Scale Degree Chords
« on: March 11, 2008, 08:15:12 AM »
You know, something just occurred to me.  I never fully explained how to get the chords formed off each scale degree.  I'm sorry for the dropping the ball yet again LGM fam, LOL.  Here's how it's done:

Scale Degree Chords

A scale degree chord is a chord built off each scale degree in the major scale.  This goes back to how you form any kind of chord.  Here's a little recap (or lesson if u don't know) on how chords are formed.  It's in a different format than I used in another post, but still says the same thing:

All chords are 1st built on 3rds, then the notes are modified to form specific kinds of chords.  Anytime u play a note, skip a note, then play the next note u are playing a 3rd.  So:

C-E
D-F
E-G
F-A
G-B
A-C
B-D

Those are all 3rds.  They're not the same quality (major, minor, etc.), but they are all 3rds of some kind.  When u put at least two of those 3rds together, u form a chord.  Example:

C-E + E-G  =  C-E-G

Neat right?  Notice how I did it though.  I didn't randomly put any two 3rds together, the last note of the first 3rd is the first note of the last 3rd.  This is how 95% of chords are formed.  This is also how u can tell what the root of a chord is, by stacking it in 3rds.  Now that we've take a trip down memory lane, let's get back to the scale degree chords:

Most of you are already familiar with the 1-3-5 chord, which is the 1st chord built off the 1st scale degree.  What most of you don't know is how to get the rest of the chords.  Well, the same process u went through to get the 1, 3, & 5 is the same process u go through to get the other chords.  Notice with 1, 3, & 5 how u magically skipped 2 & 4, LOL.  Well u gonna do the same starting on the others.  Here's an illustration: