LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Fellas I tried.......I can't play anything other than GOSPEL music.  (Read 4963 times)

Offline QCdrummer

• LGM Member
  • "Yo Grandad! Buy me some Vic Firths!"

I've been approached quite a few times about playing gigs for different genres of music. From blues, to funk, to r&b. I've always turned it down telling them that I'm only a gospel drummer.

But with the cost of things soaring through the roof, I agreed to play in a funk/r&b group, because I did need the extra $. So I went to a practice and I wasn't playing like ME. Licks that I've been doing in church for years were not clean, and I just could not get into the flow of the music. I really was struggling and it seemed like the drums were playing me, instead of the other way around.

I felt like my flesh was playing, but my spirit was in outer space somewhere. I may not be a Calvin Rodgers, but I do consider myslef above average, and at this practice I was very very average. This group is playing at some big time local events and it could help me alot, but I'm going to have to put this thing aside.

I don't knock drummers who explore the other genres. 85% of the drummers I look up to have played outside of gospel, but it just seems like my spirit is not letting get out there.

Anybody know what I mean, or am I by myself on this one?

***A friend told me that music is music, no matter what. But I can FEEL it when I play gospel. I'm not experiencing that with the other music.
Praise Him with clashing cymbals!

Offline under13

• LGM Member

Re: Fellas I tried.......I can't play anything other than GOSPEL music.
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 12:39:32 PM »
Interesting.

I'd have no problem playing RnB, thats what got me interested in music. But if were to go out and work in the secular world, I'd be very selective of where I'm playing. I dont need to be playing around Alchohol or Drugs or anything like that.