LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Need help explaining "Why" to my fellow musicians  (Read 12238 times)

Offline Ladyn

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Need help explaining "Why" to my fellow musicians
« on: April 10, 2008, 12:02:22 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I need a bit of help.  I have been teaching our P&W team musicians some music theory in order to get us all on the same page, and so that we can convert to the number system.  I have been doing this for 2 months now by starting with scales, intervals, chords, and basic progressions. I even explained the roman numeral system and about leading tones, relationship between the 4 chord and it's 1 chord etc. Explained relationships that help you predict what chord comes next and so on.  Today someone told me they did not understand why they needed to understand the number system.  That hit me like a Ton of bricks!! I have been working like crazy making sure I covered all of the basics, and making them notebooks with all of this explained very well  (or so I thought). Somehow the bass player understands, but the other keyboard player does not. I have demonstrated basic progressions, and we have done exercises around the circle of 5ths using just a basic 1-4-2-5-1 pattern in each key. 

I am a bit down right now because I just don't know how else to get the rest to see the freedom that comes with understanding the numbers and learning progression patterns  then applying them to songs.  What else can I say or do to help their understanding in this area?    What might I have done wrong? Do I just need to give them time to grasp it?  I really need some advise on this, and I do appreciate any feedback you all can give me.

Thanks,

Nichole

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Need help explaining "Why" to my fellow musicians
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 01:31:29 AM »