LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Circle of 4ths and 5ths  (Read 6527 times)

Offline blacklw234

• LGM Member

Circle of 4ths and 5ths
« on: May 02, 2008, 11:16:07 AM »
God bless those who have already tried to explain this theory, however, can someone break down the circle of 4ths and 5ths to the lowest denominator. I am not a beginner, however I get the feeling if I understand this theory it could take my bass playing to another level. Others have tried to explain it but it seemed to be a little complex in the explanation. So please can somebody be so gracious to simplify this theory. Even if you feel it is a kindergarden explanation, sometimes thats the best way for people to understand. Thank you in advance and God bless.
I play a LTD ESP C-305 Bass

Offline dhagler

• LGM Member

Re: Circle of 4ths and 5ths
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 11:45:18 AM »
I'll start.  Given any first note in a scale, the fourth note of that scale is either one string up or one string and two frets down.  The fifth note is either one string down or one string and two frets up.  The circle is completed when you play all 12 notes:

Circle of 4ths, starting with C:  C, F, B-flat, E-flat, A-flat, D-flat, G-flat, B, E, A, D, G
Circle of 5ths, starting with C:  C, G, D, A, E, B, G-flat, D-flat, A-flat, E-flat, B-flat, F

Hope this helps.

Offline Torch7

• LGM Member
    • Gospel Bass Guitar Lessons Site

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 12:24:26 PM »
Circle of 5ths.
If you take the Major Scale and associate a number with each interval.

Example:
C Major
C D E F G A B C
The fifth degree of the scale is G.
C = 1, D = 2.... G= 5 and so on.
Then From G Major
G A B C D E F# G
The fifth degree of the scale is D.
G = 1, A = 2... D = 5.

If you repeat this cycle for each scale you land on and grab the fifth you will eventually have a chart that looks like this.