LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What are some tips to learning to read music?  (Read 2596 times)

Offline kodacolor

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

What are some tips to learning to read music?
« on: May 12, 2008, 08:03:39 PM »
I've been trying to learn how to play piano sheet music, but I just can't seem to get it.  Last summer I was taking piano lessons and I had trouble reading the music.  One of my biggest problems is  I play by ear and I use the notes as a guide, but I'm not really reading the notes.  I informed my former piano teacher of this and he said it wasn't a problem.  However, it is a problem.  I'm not trying to get rid of my ear, but it's getting in the way cause I'm using it as a crutch!  On the treble clef I know FACE and Every Good Boy Does Fine, but when I read them it's like a little kid trying to sound out a new word!  I started learning the bass clef, but I don't see how I can get the bass clef and I haven't even gotten the treble clef.  Luckly this is my last week of classes so I'll have more time on my hands to learn to read notes! 

What strategies did you use to learn how to read sheet music?

:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)  ;D  :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)       
                                               Stand Out       

Offline under13

• LGM Member

Re: What are some tips to learning to read music?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 08:15:57 PM »
I used to memorize the music too, and my teacher used to hate that. I suggest that you just keep practicing it. Thats probaly not the answer you are looking for, but thats the only way imo.
You gotta learn to focus and kinda ignore your ear. Start with reading one line melodies, then add the alto part. Do you have any Hymn books? If not I suggest you get one, so that you can use it to learn church stuff

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 12:01:00 AM »