LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Organists that don't do bass pedals  (Read 14930 times)

Offline themidiroom

• LGM Member
  • A genius at work?
    • TMR Studio

Organists that don't do bass pedals
« on: August 12, 2008, 01:11:55 PM »
I was hired to do a live recording for a local group.  While I was hooking up all the mics, I asked the organist would he be using the pedals. (I asked because there was a bassist there) He kinda frowned up and said yes, I use pedals and then he played a couple of them.  Then all throughout the recording, all he did was left hand bass.
My question is too all of you that don't play pedals, does it bother you that you're not good with the pedals? 
http://www.tmrstudio.com
Musical beauty is in the ears of the beholder.

Offline cas10a

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Organists that don't do bass pedals
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 01:24:15 PM »
I just started playing the organ again after many years and I can attest that I am uncomfortable using the pedals...We recently acquired a bass player also, so right now it doesn't really bother me because I don't need to hold down the bass in left hand or pedals, so I guess for now I'm good...but I really need to work on my pedal technique, I can only hold it down on slow songs, but even then I get lost at times, so I resort to using my left hand for bass versus chording if the bass player isn't there...lol :)

Offline apostoliczak

• LGM Member
  • not everyone can be a music major...
    • Ars Long, Vita Brevis

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 01:56:26 PM »
Yeah I'm not comfortable playin the bass pedals.... yet. We have a bass player so I usually just play left hand bass.
i'm lost in music and i hope no one ever finds me...

Offline RMS2003

• LGM Member
    • YouTube Page

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2008, 01:58:17 PM »