LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Troubled...  (Read 1864 times)

Offline NewLevel

• LGM Member

Troubled...
« on: January 18, 2009, 02:46:25 AM »
Hey guys. I got to say I complain on here a lot but a guy has to vent right? First, I take my problems and troubles to God.

For the past 6-8 months at my church we have did without a pastor. I'm currently the keyboard player/singer/music director. I have been doing that for about 8 years. Recently, a pastor closed his doors to his church and came to ours to pastor. I know basically have known him and his church for years. With him came his musicians, who used to go to my church a long time ago.

One of the musicians has been a friend I've known for a long time but I have had to keep my distance from him and his family because in the past they manipulated me and controlled so much that it really caused me to question my purpose and calling in God. It's a very long story, but it's really caused me so much pain. Now, the pastor and his family who are the majority in my church (most members are all family, and I'm not) don't want me leading the praise team.

My old friend and his family keep saying very sly things to me, like "_____ needs to be playing the piano and singing." I keep telling myself that I must be a horrible musician because I feel no one appreciates the hard work and dedication I put into what I do. I keep my distance but when I'm around these people, they ALWAYS do this. It's troubling me so much, because I struggle with it. I'm like "God are you showing me this? or am I reading too much into this?"