LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Contracts  (Read 2895 times)

Offline deek

• LGM Member

Contracts
« on: November 29, 2004, 04:34:04 PM »
Are most of you who are Ministers of Music of your church utilizing a contract?  I have been playing for over 20 years and have never signed a contract.  In my adult years of playing, I have only played for two churches and have recently been asked to enter into a contract.  Is this a good thing?  Also, what should I include in the agreement.  I usually pay for all of my music, I accept no additional pay for travel or additional engagements.  Please help!  I have always allowed the church to set my salary based upon what God lays upon their hearts.  Of course, most of you know that ends up not being very much at all!  This church is really pressing me to enter into a "K".  I don't like being pressured.  I've only been there a little over two months and God is already doing great things.  They are excited and the congregation as well as the choirs have already more than doubled.  I really don't feel comfortable with a contract, however, I'm not totally opposed.  I just don't want to enter into an agreement that's not going to be legitimate.  They presented me with a little one paragraph that states a salary but does not include any expenses at all.  HELP!

Offline browntree

• LGM Member
  • www.reverbnation.com/btree

Contract for Ministers of Music
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2004, 09:14:53 PM »
Since you have to sign a contract, I would first figure out some boundaries.  It is possible that they will expect more of you because you are a contracted worker for the church.  So I would