LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: The number system "limits you?????"  (Read 5681 times)

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: The number system "limits you?????"
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2013, 11:47:25 PM »
This topic has been really interesting so far. I understand both sides of the argument, and believe it or not, organman88 and others have hit on some very valid points.

I think the problem/divide comes in with how each person interprets and uses the number system. Using it based off its original intent or based off something you've created makes all the difference in the world; especially when there are others trying to learn from you.

The original intent of using the number system takes into account that you are following the basic "rules" of theory, using the chords built off the scale degrees. If the chord is major in the scale, then it's going to keep it's major base. Plus, the root will be whatever scale degree you're on. For example, using the number 1 (I) implies that the chord is major and that the 1 is in the bass. Even if the chord is a major 7, major 9, dom7, dom13th, etc. the base of the chord is still major. Using the number 1 (i) implies that the chord is minor and that the 1 is in the bass. Even if the chord is a minor 7, minor 9, min 11th, etc. the base of the chord is still minor. etc....