LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need Chords for "Your Name" by Shekinah Glory  (Read 3638 times)

Offline bgdg00

• LGM Member
    • Cityoffragrance.com

Need Chords for "Your Name" by Shekinah Glory
« on: May 26, 2009, 06:24:35 PM »
Hello.
I'm a fairly experienced Church musician that's striving to go to the next level in my playing( No longer playing what the singers sing and playing all progressions). The thing is, I have to do this while learning new songs for the church praise team. Long story short, this song(Your Name by shekinah Glory ministries) is driving me crazy, it's all spotted chord progressions but because they are spotted that I can't pick them up just by ear. I've scoured the web for clips or just a written list(by the way thanx T-Block for those progressions to many other songs I need to learn) but to no avail. No one sings this song for some reason.

What I know,
I know most of the bass line to the chorus and opening and in the process even learned Psalm 27(the next song), but I just need the chords(Gb-C-Eb) for the sections where the choir is singing.

Thanks ahead of time, and God Bless.

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

Re: Need Chords for "Your Name" by Shekinah Glory
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 07:56:46 PM »
This happens to be one of the only songs that I like from the first disc of this SG cd. I can help you learn this song. It's in a minor key, so it may be a little tricky, but not too hard to figure out. Why don't u post the bass notes u have, then we can work from there?
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

Offline bgdg00

• LGM Member
    • Cityoffragrance.com

« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2009, 12:26:07 AM »
Thank you so much and no problem.(sorry for the delay)

The main section I have is during the opening to the song, it goes:

Key of 'looks like' G# Minor, even though this section is in G# major: