LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is a good amp to get the Lee William's Singers tones??  (Read 2836 times)

Offline W2P4G

• LGM Member
    • http://

What is a good amp to get the Lee William's Singers tones??
« on: December 20, 2004, 08:39:03 PM »
Hello Everyone!!

I am new to playing gospel guitar and I need help trying to find my tone. I love the way the guitar sounds on the Lee Williams Singer albums and the Canton Spritual albums. Does anyone know a good amp to use?

Thanks and God Bless You!!

Offline JayP5150

• LGM Member
    • PEEBSound Guitar Effects

« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2004, 08:28:17 AM »
Hello and welcome.

I'm not sure about that specific artist, but you can't go wrong with a Peavey classic series (like a Classic 30, 50, etc.), or any of Fender's Hot Rod, Deville, Deluxe, etc. tube amps.

That's the key, if you want one, you gotta' have tubes (IMO).  I play a Peavey 5150--which I love--but it's very high-gain.  I really have to tweak it to fit in at church.  It doesn't even really have a clean channel--I just use my guitar volume to clean up--but I highly recommend that one as well.  I've had it for 6 years, and couldn't dream of getting rid of it.

Whatever you get, put Sovtek tubes in it--big difference in tone.

Good luck.

Offline W2P4G

• LGM Member

Thank You, JayP5150
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2004, 03:07:07 PM »
That's what I thought. I just purchased a Peavery Classic 30. What type of pedals if any, do you recommend(Compressors,Overdrive/Distortions, modulation, & etc.).  Where I set up at church, is near the 'More Mature Mothers of the Church. I don't want to blow them away. So I can't crank the Amp too Loud  :(  But I want that hard hitting overdrive sound.

What would you say is the basic pedals to use?? I do have a wah and a DS1.

Offline JayP5150

• LGM Member

« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2004, 05:00:10 PM »