LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need Help Converting  (Read 1189 times)

Offline xcalybur32

• LGM Member

Need Help Converting
« on: August 11, 2009, 09:59:06 AM »
Good Day LGM,

I'm in need of some help.  I'm a recently converted drummer that's learning bass and I want to in my heart play 6-String. Would it be easier to learn on a 4-String before jumping on a 6 or does it really matter? Also could someone suggest good gopsel or quartet grooves? I can read tab and notes.  Last one I'm looking at the Ibanez SR506 as a replacement to my ...don't laugh...Squire 4 String and I was wondering if theres a better bass for the price (GC $629.99)  Thanks for your help.

Offline floaded27

• LGM Member
    • MySpace Profile

Re: Need Help Converting
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 10:27:08 AM »
why would anybody laugh. thats similar, if not the same thing, many of us started on. You ask would it be easier to learn on a 4, but if you have a 4 should that even matter? If thats what you have, learn on it. I started out on a Squire 4 string because thats all i had access to. and i didnt think twice about it because i wanted to learn.

The 4 is the foundation. So those same 4 strings will be there on a 5 and a 6 stringer. If you cant get the basic handling of a 4, no need in going beyond.

The question of a better bass for the price is subjective, and more than anything depends on the circumstances. Are you willing to buy used? Do you need to buy ASAP (sometimes good deals come around if u wait a bit)? Considering certain brands only?
For my God... let "Golden Axe" prevail.

Offline xcalybur32

• LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 10:52:18 AM »