LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Gospel Standards (Suggested Learning)  (Read 2007 times)

Offline thefunkystrummer

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Gospel Standards (Suggested Learning)
« on: November 25, 2009, 11:43:10 AM »
Hello folks,

I am new to playing gospel music. However, I have many years of experience as a guitarist and composer with secular pop, rock and contemporary jazz. I joined the LMG site to learn how you "real" gospel players get down. I wasn't raised in the church. So, I have none of that background to pull from.

As a start, I would first like to know if anyone here has any suggestions for a list of gospel standards (not so much modern praise & worship but traditional gospel standards) that any guitarist worth his salt ought to be able to play. This will surely help me and possibly other gospel novices. Thanks ahead of time!

As a starter, I'll throw one on the list:

Amazing Grace
Play well and prosper...

Offline SoundofJoy

• LGM Member
  • Play it again Sam
    • Sam's Gospel Music Course

Re: Gospel Standards (Suggested Learning)
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2009, 11:50:04 AM »
Here's a link to my Advanced Musician instuction page. I think you'll find everything your looking for there ;)

www.Samsmuzikco.com/advanced.html
I love music, any kind of music.

Offline jlynnb1

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2009, 07:58:06 PM »
i'd say it depends on what type of church you are in...some churches will never do the old time churchy standards. even if they do...they are all VERY similar and do not rely on the guitar at all...so if you can comp/fill over a basic chord progression, you will be ok.

other than that...sounds like you already have a blend of styles to acclimate yourself to the music pretty quickly.

Offline thefunkystrummer

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 12:20:17 PM »
Sam (SoundofJoy) & Jlynnb1,