LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Your KEY Guitar tips for learners!  (Read 2996 times)

Offline kingsp

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
    • You Tube

Your KEY Guitar tips for learners!
« on: November 01, 2010, 07:36:52 AM »
Hi guys,

I've been learning acoustic for 18 months now and i'm requesting advice and suggestions from all you experienced players.

When you look back on your development what are the ESSENTIAL factors you would highly recommend to the likes of me??? Think about those things YOU WISH somebody had told you earlier because they helped so much. Maybe it's a useful book/resource/website.

I know this may be your personal opinion but i'm on a lifelong mission to learn this instrument so please share your knowledge. I practice everyday but sometimes question whether i'm doing right and get stuck in ruts especially with picking and finger strength and accuracy. I feel i can operate the individual hands ok but bringing all of it together is difficult.

I have weekly lessons also but only 30 mins so don't always get the time to ask everything.

A few people have encouraged me to start playing with the church band during rehearsals as they say 'jamming' is the next step?? I've been a couple of times but got frustrated because they can all play by ear and whilst i'm trying to learn the first progression they have moved onto a next song!!! :(

Anyway....all advice will be taken on board so thanks in advance.

Blessings
'the holy spirit searches the deep things of God'

Offline Gibby

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • Dad...i'm ready for the world!

Re: Your KEY Guitar tips for learners!
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 10:57:33 AM »
First off...congrats for choosing the coolest instrument, the guitar!  ;D

Well first off, you're doing the right thing by taking lessons.  Lessons will help with techniques and general theory.

***EMPHASIS***