LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: I'm Not Being Treated Fairly  (Read 5889 times)

Offline lil_laski

• LGM Member
  • TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

I'm Not Being Treated Fairly
« on: October 12, 2011, 01:36:06 PM »
Recently, I have had to face some issues with a church that I started playing for when I was in the 10th grade. I'm now a college student have been studying music for the past 3 years at the university that I currently attend.  When I first started at this church, it was great and I can never remember me having it out with any of the members or anyone associated with the music ministry.

I graduated from high school in 2007 and went off to college which is 153 miles (2hrs) away. I often times return to play for the church on most weekends when I didn't have performances with the various collegiate ensembles that I am a part of on campus.
Last year is where the problem began! The other lady who plays the piano at the church was diagnosed with cancer and she was out for about 3 months. I was asked how much would I accept to come down EVERY Sunday. My answer was $200/Sunday in a nut-shell. Truth of the matter is, I am very knowledgeable about my gift because I am a music major and that's what I do. On top of that, it's over 300 miles on my vehicle for me to get there and back.....with that being said I didn't think $200 was a problem.

About a month later, the pastor called me and informed me that they were going to have to cut my check down to $75 a Sunday when I don't have rehearsal with the choir and $150 if I'm able to have rehearsal and render services on Sunday morning. THIS IS NOT WHAT WE AGREED TO! I left the church but I came back because I knew that I was supposed to be at church.