LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Beginner Minister of Music...Need some help.  (Read 2820 times)

misterP

Beginner Minister of Music...Need some help.
« on: March 29, 2012, 02:30:29 PM »
Hello everyone.  I"m new to the forum as well as to the position.  I'll get straight to the point.  Our ministry's worship service is changing...going from sit down and listen to the choir sing, to get involved with worship with the praise team.  The praise team is younger and tends to sing more worship songs and a few praise songs.  They're pretty much self sufficient as far as getting their parts.  However, the choir is older and some are tone deaf.  I am struggling with what to do about the choir.  Should I dissolve it and create a second praise team or try to work with them to get them to a better sound?  My background is sax player....I am learning the keys now...i can play a bit, but I'd still classify myself as a beginner.  I have two musicians, "old skool", traditional background who don't read music or really know any theory..ie chords, chord names, progressions ect....so I just need some advice.

Thanks in advance.

Offline JoanHall

• LGM Member
    • My gospel choir web pages

Re: Beginner Minister of Music...Need some help.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 11:41:48 PM »
How tone deaf are the struggling members of the choir?  Is it that they can't learn harmony parts, or that they can't even carry a tune in unison?

If it's the first one, you might want to stick with certain types of songs that will match their abilities, and then try to work on improving their skills.  But if they can't sing at all, I would suggest that you consult with the pastor about what his/her expectations are and what role they want the choir to play in the new format for the services.

misterP

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 10:26:22 AM »