LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Midi controller latency question  (Read 7167 times)

smalls85s

Midi controller latency question
« on: January 04, 2012, 07:20:27 AM »
I just bought an MAudio 88 key es controller.  I've tried various midi programs like Kontakt, MIDIKeyz, and even the software that came with it to run through my laptop.
specs: 2.13 GHz processor, 4G ram, over 200G free on hard drive
Why is it that I can press a key on the keyboard, immediately see the note played on the on-screen keyboard, but 10 - 15 secs later hear the sound.
I'm, just getting into midi so I have no past experience to know what is going on or how to fix it.
There are plenty of music geniuses here that someone should know how I can fix this.

Offline 6stringapprentice

• LGM Member
    • facebook

Re: Midi controller latency question
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 07:40:14 AM »
 :o 10 - 15 seconds That is super duper latency.  :D

If you are running windows and haven't already installed an asio driver, then go to asio4all and see how/if that helps.
Sounding Mathematics.

Offline floaded27

• LGM Member
    • MySpace Profile

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 01:56:46 PM »
i usually get latency recording MIDI, but what i find is that latency isnt in the MIDI signal, its in processing the playback. So i just monitor myself (dont have a dedicated MIDI board but a keyboard that has MIDI out) and when i playback after recording, everything recorded in time.

When im not going through the DAW and have Kontakt4 or SampleTank2 open standalone, then the delay is very minimal.
For my God... let "Golden Axe" prevail.

smalls85s

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 05:14:10 AM »