LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 11ths and 13ths  (Read 1797 times)

blyempowered

11ths and 13ths
« on: August 29, 2012, 10:18:06 AM »
Are there any gospel songs that you've heard where an 11th and 13th chord are clearly identifiable (is that a word)? I'm just exploring 11ths and 13ths. I messed around with a chord or two this morning.

Offline cas10a

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: 11ths and 13ths
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2012, 10:38:28 AM »
"Jesus Is Real" - John P. Kee, in the intro...

blyempowered

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 10:44:01 AM »
"Jesus Is Real" - John P. Kee, in the intro...

Ok very interesting. Thanks!

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 12:42:25 PM »
Pretty much any of the "churchy" gospel songs or any song with shouting music should have 13ths in them. Check out "It's About Time For A Miracle" by Beverly Crawford.

As far as 11ths, those are more difficult to recognize. I can't think of a song off the top of my head right now, so I'll have to get back to ya.
Real musicians play in every key!!!
Music Theory, da numbers work!

blyempowered

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 03:23:12 PM »
Pretty much any of the "churchy" gospel songs or any song with shouting music should have 13ths in them. Check out "It's About Time For A Miracle" by Beverly Crawford.

As far as 11ths, those are more difficult to recognize. I can't think of a song off the top of my head right now, so I'll have to get back to ya.

Wow! Didn't know that 13ths were that common in gospel! Thanks dude!

Offline csedwards2

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
    • Find me on the book

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2012, 08:25:29 PM »
those old Kirk Franklin tunes with the Family, Hezekiahs original LFC stuff

JamesPlaysPiano

« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2012, 06:12:20 PM »