LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: "Breathe" Byron Cage  (Read 30724 times)

Offline CESharp

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • Good Mornting......Hellerrrrrrrr!!!!

Re: "Breathe" Byron Cage
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2006, 09:13:35 AM »
Hey T-Block
I get most of it but each time you say "with the ___ being in the bass" I get lost.  Can you explain that phrase in each break down?  Thanks

This is a good lesson
Carla E.
Canaan Church (Urbana, Illinois)
U of I

Offline T-Block

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2006, 02:47:41 PM »
First of all, keep in mind that a major chord contains 1-3-5 scale degrees of any key:

Eb / Ab-Bb-C-Eb

In the LH, we have an Eb, which is the 1st scale degree in the key of Eb.  In the RH, we have an Abadd9 chord, which is a 4 chord in Eb w/the added 9th, Bb.  Since Eb is a note in the 4 chord, we are actually playing an inversion of the 4 chord, w/the 5th being in the bass.  Since the 1st scale degree is in the bass, the entire chord is a 1.

O.K, in this chord, I mean the 5th of the Ab chord.  In the key of Ab, your scale degrees are:  Ab=1  Bb=2  C=3  Db=4  Eb=5  F=6  G=7  So, when you play the 4 chord, you are playing the 5th of that chord in the bass, not the 5th of Eb.

C / Eb-Ab-C

In the LH, we have a C, which is the 6th scale degree in the key of Eb.  In the RH, we have an Ab major chord, which is a 4 chord in Eb.  Since C is a note in the 4 chord, we are actually playing an inversion of the 4 chord, w/the 3rd being in the bass.  Since the 6th scale degree is in the bass, the entire chord is a 6.

O.K, in this chord, I mean the 3rd of the Ab chord.  In the key of Ab, your scale degrees are:  Ab=1  Bb=2  C=3  Db=4  Eb=5  F=6  G=7  So, when you play the 4 chord, you are playing the 3rd of that chord in the bass, not the 3rd of Eb. 

D / F-Bb-D