LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.

Poll

Am I taking our Praise Team leader's remarks too personally?

Yes - you're way too sensitive
0 (0%)
There is some truth, but it could have been worded better
0 (0%)
No
0 (0%)
You might want to get medication/help...
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Am I Irritable?  (Read 1501 times)

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Am I Irritable?
« on: December 07, 2012, 11:40:51 AM »
Sorry about this verbose post which is "all about me", but think I need a reality check.

I am a musician on our Praise Team, and also direct our small choir, so I run choir rehearsals, but am under the authority of our Praise Team leader, who oversees the music ministry.

Lately I have been feeling better and stronger physically, but not mentally: am worrying, especially about my role in our smaller church. Know that's wrong, but it seems that more and more I let the opinions of others get to me. The compliments wash right over, but recently our Praise Team leader has said a couple of things that bother me:

About 2 weeks ago: Talked about musicians in LA who went from playing at one service to another at different churches for money, then complained about people who "constantly remind me that they are volunteers". To my knowledge, no one on our team has that kind of attitude. We all know that we are servants, with no expectation of pay. Almost asked about this, but thought better of it.

Last Rehearsal: At the end, said we should remember that "it's a privilege to serve on the Praise Team". Then warned us about pride and attitude. Then turned to me and commented that some in the choir suffer from this. Our present Praise team has the least amount of ego and drama I have ever seen - why would a leader say something like this? It seemed almost designed to cause dissension, suspicion and drama among us.