LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Something I started....  (Read 623 times)

Offline dwest2419

• LGM Member

Something I started....
« on: December 27, 2012, 11:40:29 PM »
Hi guys back with another thread. I want what Im about to say sink into your hearing because it is important on what Im about to say. Anyway, to make a long story short I had just learned something new that helped me become a better guitar player at hearing melodies and hearing phrases in their such unique way. For instance, I started playing a chord.... lets take a C Major7 chord and I thought to myself what way can I come up with to make interesting phrases that would sound good over this chord. I thought...well, any note would sound good if you know only how to resolve it. I always wondered what it would be like.... for it was never the note I ended on, (which had some significance to it) but the choice of choosing a different note maybe the R, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, the 5th, 6th, or the 7th to maybe perhaps starting on would be the uncommon in this case.

And this is what I noticed from my experience of playing the guitar... but the one thing I noticed that so intrigued me was that each note sounded different and if as though that each starting note had a different vibe to it...you know but you can tell it always wanted some resolution after it. So what I started doing was to play a chord with rhythm just one chord and just decide for once to pick a note (any note which is in this key the key of C it could be the note C or D or E or F or G or A or B) (< sorry for the redundancy but just trying to make a point here) and try to resolve the tension on a good note. For a scale is different from a phrase....you get where coming from?!?