LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I'm a New Choir Director.. any advice  (Read 3515 times)

Ms. Blue

I'm a New Choir Director.. any advice
« on: May 22, 2013, 09:26:01 AM »
Hey All!!

I'm still getting use to posting on here but you all have been so helpful to me, so THANK YOU!! I have been soloist for the past 21 years. I've been singing in the choir for the past 23 years. A choir president for 10 years and now our choir director had to leave because she became the first lady at another church.  I was appointed the choir director by my pastor and have very minimal experience on how to do this. The most challenging part is not having a musician and although the Lord blessed me with a voice, he skipped me when he gave out gifts on instruments  ;D ;D ;D. Do you all have any advice for me.  I appreciate your help. I'm not completely lost just need suggestions.  THANKS!!!

Offline JoanHall

• LGM Member
    • My gospel choir web pages

Re: I'm a New Choir Director.. any advice
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 10:30:26 AM »
Hi!  Welcome to choir directing!

Here are two articles you can look at:
God Bless!

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 11:30:25 AM »
Good advice, Joan...

I visited a church last Sunday - had instruments, but no musicians.
The choir did all their songs acapella; hand claps and tambourine helped.
Then a soloist came up and sang to tracks...

Ms. Blue

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 11:52:48 AM »
Good advice, Joan...

I visited a church last Sunday - had instruments, but no musicians.
The choir did all their songs acapella; hand claps and tambourine helped.
Then a soloist came up and sang to tracks...

That sounds like my church.. we use performance tracks for the choir and when I sing solo's. My concern is more so to help with warm ups and things of that nature. We have been without a musician for a while so i'm used to that part.

Offline betnich