LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A drum brother from down south.  (Read 1829 times)

Offline Funkaddictus_Groovus

• LGM Member

A drum brother from down south.
« on: March 08, 2005, 08:30:08 PM »
Hello everybody.My name is michael and i am a 31 year old pro drummer from Athens,Greece.I am a funk,soul and r'n'b music(and drumming)enthusiast.My love for what we  here in greece generally  refer to as black music is one of the moving forces of my life.As i am a person that likes to research what intrigues me,and tries  to gets to the roots of things i recently discovered this forum and have been a frequent visitor since.
 Some two years ago i read an interview of the incomparable Gerald Heyward in Modern Drummer magazine where he mentioned his gospel background and how moat of today's hip-hop/r'n'b drummers come from the churches.It took me a while but i started getting into gospel music and drumming.Now,don't get me wrong i 've heard gospel music before...in fact,my mother use to play a couple of Mahalia Jackson's records quite often.My dad who is a drummer himself has a well rounded record collection and a large part of it is dedicated to black music.Jazz,mainley but also blues,funk,soul etc.But the thing is ,contemporary gospel is tottally different.How can i put this...it appeals to a much wider audience,even a non-practicing christian(more on that later) not to mention white boys from down south like my self.Of course i understand that its cause remains the same:to get a message across people.But the orcherstrations are more intriguing and complicated,and the drumming???Forget it...I've heard(thanks to this forum mainly)some of the most grooving, sophisticated and uplifting drum beats ever!