LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Skills to be a great musician and minister of music  (Read 5060 times)

blyempowered

Skills to be a great musician and minister of music
« on: June 01, 2013, 08:15:31 AM »
I was going to put this in the lounge since there's more action over there than here but I figured this topic would be more appropriate here.

I believe that part of advancing in any area of life, especially in our careers, is always evaluating where we are skill-wise and then making the necessary steps to become better. That is how players like Lebron James have got better over time.

So I want to know from you all what are the skills needed to be a great musician and a great minister of music (I put both because while I'm a minister of music I'm also a musician). I'm in the process of evaluating myself to see where my strengths and weaknesses are. This year has been one of growth for me but I know there are areas in which I still need to improve.

Ok, help me out please! Thanks!

Offline betnich

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

Re: Skills to be a great musician and minister of music
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2013, 10:51:32 AM »
This is my mindset as well - one can always get better. "Study to show yourself approved".
Sometimes this brings me into conflict with those who accept mediocrity or who have a "Meh - this is good enough" attitude.

Picked up a book yesterday about leading small groups - hope it has some tips for me, since I can always improve my people skills.

The Bible says not to act as if one has arrived, but to be humble and teachable. We can learn from anybody, either what to do or what not to do...

blyempowered

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2013, 07:06:04 PM »
This is my mindset as well - one can always get better. "Study to show yourself approved".
Sometimes this brings me into conflict with those who accept mediocrity or who have a "Meh - this is good enough" attitude.